Skip to content

US University OPT Fee List ​

Published 2026-06-21
Updated at 2026-11-03
Views —

Many US universities' international student offices charge students who apply for post-completion OPT a fee of their own, on top of the USCIS filing fee. The name varies by school; common ones are OPT Administrative Fee, Post-Completion Services Fee, and OPT SEVIS Maintenance Fee.

Among the 25 schools in the table below, post-completion OPT fees range from $85 to $423. Most schools charge more for the STEM OPT extension; see the US University STEM OPT Fee List.

This is a school fee, not the USCIS filing fee

The fees in this table are paid to the school. They are separate from the I-765 filing fee paid to USCIS ($470 online, $520 on paper), and you usually pay both.

Why schools charge ​

The federal regulation for F-1 students (8 CFR 214.2(f)) mentions only the USCIS filing fee and the SEVIS fee. It says nothing about school OPT fees, so each school decides whether to charge and how much.

Schools charge because the regulation gives them a duty that continues after graduation: once a school recommends OPT, it must maintain the student's SEVIS record for the entire OPT period. 8 CFR 214.2(f)(11)(ii):

When a DSO recommends a student for OPT, the school assumes the added responsibility for maintaining the SEVIS record of that student for the entire period of authorized OPT, consistent with paragraph (f)(12) of this section.

Schools that state what the fee covers all describe maintaining SEVIS records, processing reports, and continued advising. None of the schools in the table says the fee pays for verifying employers; for why that matters, see OPT 出事,谁收钱、谁背锅 (in Chinese).

School Fee Overview ​

Amounts are in US dollars, checked against each school's official website in October 2026.

SchoolStateFee namePost-completion OPTRefundsSource
Arizona State University (ASU)AZOPT Case Management Payment200Not statedOPT
University of ArizonaAZOPT Case Management Fee150Only if the school finds you ineligible; none after filing with USCISOPT, Refunds
UC BerkeleyCAPost-Completion Services Fee250Not statedOPT
UCLACADashew Center Visa Services Fee423Non-refundableFee schedule
UC San DiegoCAAdministrative Processing Fee250Only if the school finds you ineligibleOPT
UC IrvineCAPost-Completion Administrative Fee100Only if the school finds you ineligibleFee FAQ
San José State University (SJSU)CAAdministrative Post-Completion OPT / STEM OPT fee150Not statedOPT
Stanford UniversityCABechtel I-20 processing feeCharged; amount not listedNot statedOPT
Georgia TechGAPractical Training Fee35 per authorizationRefundable if the internship can't be completed for reasons outside your controlFee page
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign (UIUC)ILOPT Management Fee100Not statedOPT
Illinois Institute of TechnologyILOPT / STEM OPT Administrative Fee100Not statedOPT
Northeastern UniversityMAOGS Post-Graduation Administrative Fee200Not statedOPT
Boston UniversityMAprocessing fee100Not statedOPT
MITMAMIT Administrative Fee150 (only for OPT longer than 100 days)Not statedOPT
University of Minnesota Twin CitiesMN—No fee (stated on the website)—Notice
Columbia UniversityNYOPT Administration Fee340Not statedOPT
Cornell UniversityNYOPT service fee225Non-refundableOPT
New York University (NYU)NYMaintenance of Status Fee125Not statedOPT payment page
Pace UniversityNYISS OPT Administrative Fee125Non-refundable once the school issues the I-20OPT
University of Pennsylvania (Penn)PAPenn Internal Processing Fee305Not statedOPT
Southern Methodist University (SMU)TXOPT SEVIS Maintenance Fee102Not statedOPT checklist
Texas A&M UniversityTXInternational Student Post Enrollment Maintenance Fee200Not statedOPT, Catalog
University of Texas at AustinTXOptional Practical Training Administrative Fee150Not statedFees
University of Texas at DallasTXPractical Training Fee150Not statedOPT
University of Washington (Seattle)WAPost-Completion Training Fee85Only if the school finds you ineligible, minus $5Fee page

Notes on the table:

  • Pre-completion OPT: Cornell, Stanford and SMU state that they don't charge for it; Minnesota states that it doesn't charge for the first 12-month OPT application.
  • UT Dallas contradicts itself: its international office page says 150, while its 2026 catalog says 100 per practical training application.
  • Other fees: USC charges a separate non-refundable $100 for Cap-Gap extensions (see the USC fee page), and Georgia Tech charges its $35 for every CPT and OPT authorization.

Schools Whose Websites Don't Mention a School Fee ​

Purdue University, Ohio State University, Michigan State University, University of Wisconsin–Madison, Duke University, Carnegie Mellon University, Rutgers University, Stevens Institute of Technology, Syracuse University, University of Utah, Santa Clara University, University of Colorado Boulder.

Their OPT and STEM OPT pages list only the USCIS filing fee. USC, the University of Florida, Indiana University Bloomington and Oregon State University list only a STEM OPT fee, and their post-completion OPT pages mention no school fee; see the STEM OPT fee list. That doesn't mean they never charge; check your school's notices before applying.

Before You Pay ​

  • Schools collect the fee before issuing the OPT I-20. UIUC states that it processes the new I-20 only after payment; ASU, SMU and Cornell require you to upload the payment receipt with your request.
  • Fees are rarely refunded. Usually the only refund case is when the school finds you ineligible. The University of Arizona states that there is no refund after the application is filed with USCIS, or if USCIS denies or delays the I-765.
  • The fee pays for record-keeping and advising. After charging, the school maintains your SEVIS record and processes reports; it does not verify your employer for you.

Adding a School ​

If your school isn't listed, add a row in the same format: take the fee name, amount and refund rule from the school's official website, and link the official page in the "Source" column. For a school that needs a longer explanation, create a separate page named after the school in this folder. STEM OPT fees go in the STEM OPT fee list.